Ethical Marketing- A topic for San Diego Radio Air Waves?

Last night I was talking to someone about the possibility of being back on San Diego radio as a co-host on a radio show. The topic of conversation about the purpose of the show is very interesting, and it has me thinking about the timing of this opportunity.

The host of the show is an advocate for people in the area of finance. He’s not a financial planner like many radio shows hosts are.  Instead, what he does is he works for people and he stands up for their rights to be treated fair and ethically when it comes to many areas of their money, income, finance, business and credit.

When we were talking about how I can possibly be a fit as a co-host of the show, we were looking at the different types of businesses that I do and the areas of expertise I offer.

The two key parts that I thought could be a fit if I were to go back on air would be in the areas:  of marketing and leadership.

Over the years, I have said often that sometimes my ethics and my morality(as two of my core values) are so strong that it actually  causes me to lose potential business opportunities.  We’ve kind of chuckled about this,  shrugged our shoulders,  then quickly dismissed the thought of being anything other than ethical or having integrity in our business practices. Those two core values are simply part of who I am and how I am hardwired.  And it’s also reflected in all of the people that are part of the teams in my businesses.

For me the interesting side of the timing of this show host coming to me is that only, about three weeks ago, I was doing research looking to see if consumers or business owners were actually interested in an ethical marketing or in working with,  ethical leadership and business.

This research was prompted by a couple of weeks worth of phone calls to business owners at the end of this last year and early in the new year.  We talked to a large amount of businesses.  They were very interested in wanting to do marketing with us, especially online marketing, which is one of our specialties. But the common theme that kept being told to us was that “they were afraid to try anything new, because they had gotten burned by everyone else that came along”.

Over the last year, another thing that I had been seeing way too often with clients and potential clients were marketing contracts that were unbelievably vague and expensive. The companies  that were to provide the services simply would never be able to follow through, nor did they! Those so called ‘experts’ just took these business owners money and were o.k. with doing little to no work for it.

I helped many companies get out of costly contracts so that they could have cash flow to work with our company.  That’s really not part of my job. It’s just my heart.  By doing this, then they have funds for us to  provide them honest ethical, and most importantly effective marketing that actually help them make money.

So the tie-in to the possibility of being on the show is the perspective that evidently- as a marketing firm-Sweet Marketing Solutions has positioned itself to be more than just an integrated marketing company. We are in essence, an advocate for business owners in the area of marketing.

We always have been this way.  I can see from this perspective that what we advocate is ethicality in marketing and honest business practices. When we take on a client, if not for the short term.  It is for the long haul. We genuinely care and take a vested interest in our clients’ success. We don’t over promise but we do our best to over deliver.  In fact,  I’m pretty clear that it is one of the reasons most of our clients stay with us for so long.

I’m not afraid to have difficult conversations.  Sometimes I have to tell them (my clients and prospects) what they may not want to hear – but what’s in their best interest to hear about their ideas for marketing and promoting a business. These types of conversation- eye to eye, heart to heart- business owner to business owner- are part of what makes us different.  We’re real. We’re grounded.  We do what we say we are going to do. What we say we’re going to do- we can (and do) deliver.

So the big question on the table is:  if I go on the radio is ethical marketing or marketing that comes from ethical and value-based and integrity-based perspectives is that something that listeners in the San Diego area really wanted know about?

Is their pain point with spending wasted money on marketing enough?

Are they ready to find out what it’s like – to work with the company, who will deliver what it says and will work with an honest budget?

Personally, I like to believe that yes, there are many companies out there who would like this type of attention and care to help them grow their business. But I’m smart enough to know that before you can have an ethical business you have to have an ethical person who is involved in the decision-making process.

And that my friends’ is the subject for another day…

Debbra Sweet

One Response

  1. Robert- Thanks for the thumbs up! It’s nice to meet you.

    I woke up with this on my mind- so I have fixed my typos … but the info is still the same. 🙂

    Have an awesome day,
    Debbra

Leave a Reply

