Pet Peeve Rant- A Stand for Integrity

I  don’t often air my pet peeve’s publicly, but today I have to.   I have to stand up and speak about the breakdown of the moral fabric of integrity that I see going on around us.  Oh, I know. It’s always been there-but over the past few years, it can be seen that this breakdown has been happening faster and with increased lack of concern for the consequences.

One area in particular were this lack of integrity showing up more and more is in business. A few years ago, people were asking me when I was in and do a radio show about morality and integrity.  These questions came about right after the first couple airings of the show.  At that time wasn’t quite ready to take on this subject.  It’s a big one.

Don’t get me wrong. I have always done my best to walk with integrity,  to live up my life with consistency, to be honest in my speech and intentions. In our business, from day one, we have always served our clients with honest communication, our best foot forward, and we followed through on what we said we would deliver.

Part of why I feel the need to rant today is that over the last couple of weeks, we have been talking to many businesses that want and need our online and offline marketing services.  In our discovery conversations with them (our prospective clients)  the talk lately ends up being around their website, and how to promote it effectively for long-term results.

One of the biggest differences about our company, is that we take the time to truly research and do our homework before we work with a client.  This becomes very important in the planning process that we do.  We know, and our clients have told us, that part of why we are able to get great results for our customers is the research and planning, we do.

So after these conversations with potential clients we did our homework.  This is where we kept seeing (over and over) that these potential clients had been lied to and deceived by companies that presented a contract for services that ultimately were complete waste of time, effort, and money for the business owner (our potential client).

It’s one thing to see a bad contract, shoddy work, and have insight and knowledge from a place of integrity, knowing that what our potential client is paying for was not what they were getting.  It is another thing to see some of these same companies offering services doing this type contracting for each of their clients. The advertising companies are simply ripping off these business owners!  The clients have been manipulated, and the companies that wrote the contracts did business without integrity.

I’m not sure why I have such a passion to serve people and help them succeed.  My heart has always been to serve and to do things that are best for others.  I find reward, knowing that it is possible to do great work, deliver what you say and have moral values intact. I also find reward in watching other people discover a sense of hope and belief knowing that they have found a person in the company who has consistency, integrity and moral values.

As we cascade faster into the time where technology drives us, and people have become laden with more responsibilities  to work longer in order to provide for  themselves and their family, a return to core values, first by individuals, and right alongside it, by companies, is needed.

A consistency that appeared during the Depression and has been seen over the past few years, is that people did not necessarily stop spending money, however, they are much more cautious as to where they do spend the money.  People want good service and value.  It is disheartening to see business owners today gun shy and scared, because they’ve been burned too many times by businesses, who all too easily will lie and manipulate just to make a buck.

The time is now to stand for, a sense of moral righteousness, humility, honesty, integrity, and strong core values that lead to a positive influence and deliver value and a true sense of purpose. It has been said that it takes one person to stand up and take the first step for change.  I have made a commitment to myself, to my family,to the company,  to my clients, and ultimately to God to stand for His truth and righteousness to be a representative of how we CAN be honest and successful at the same time. All this can be done based upon principles with good strong moral ethics and values. If I have to be that one person to now stand up for others- I am ready.

For those of you who are reading this that have a business and have been burned by other marketing and advertising companies — if you’re looking for a solid company to work with will take care of you with the integrity, you deserve, know that you have to look no further.  My door is always open, and I would be happy to speak with you to find out your needs, your situation and your business goals this next year.  Connect up with me and let’s talk.

Here’s to standing for the truth!

May your day be blessed and prosperous,

Debbra Sweet

 

P.S. In case you’re not clear on the definition of integrity, it is here:

in·teg·ri·ty

1.adherence to moral and ethical principles; soundness of moral character; honesty.
2.the state of being whole, entire, or undiminished: to preserve the integrity of the empire.
3.a sound, unimpaired, or perfect condition: the integrity of a ship’s hull.

2 Responses

  1. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Kasia Brown, debbrasweet. debbrasweet said: Pet Peeve Rant: I  don’t often air my pet peeve’s publically, but today I have to.   I have to stand up and spea… http://bit.ly/ecdj5E […]

Leave a Reply

